Vienna- Day 2

IMG_0038

I started by heading into the old city and wandering the small curving streets away from the main touristic boulevards. A turn or two takes you away from the crowds, and into a world of cool grey stone, small courtyards and delightful shops. Overall, it was nice to be away from the press of people and simply wander for a while and admire the architecture of the old Vienna.

The wandering was doubly amazing, because I found a little restaurant for lunch, tucked in a small courtyard not far off from the cathedral. The goulash they served was probably one of the best dishes I have eaten on my trip so far.IMG_0043

Upon the counsel of the owner, I then headed to a nearby church that was having a recital. He couldn’t convey which instrument was going to be used, but the mystery was quickly elucidated when I heard the pipe organ from the street!

The recital was a great break in the day, and the church was truly wonderful! Like many I had seen in Vienna, it was very heavily decorated and carved, with small high windows that still allowed enough light in to bounce around between the gilded statues. Frescoes and paintings cover every surface giving a somewhat crowded feeling to the space, and yet the high walls and gently curving ceilings give a sense of privacy and protection.

This wasn’t the end of my musical exploration for the day, as I also had reservation was a small Mozart recital. Some of Mozart’s most famous pieces were performed by a small ensemble and both ballet dancers and opera singers would accompany. It was a very fun evening, everyone with a smile as we enjoyed some beautiful music and got to see professionals do what they do best! Dance and sing their hearts out.

After such a full day, it wasn’t very hard to simply fall into bed! I knew I needed all the sleep I could get to enjoy even more amazing things the next day. First stop: The Spanish Riding School and their amazing Lipizzaner stallions!!